With her spell-binding fourth album, ‘Dead Magic’ set for release on March 2nd, 2018 via City Slang, Anna von Hausswolff has shared the second track from the record.

“The Truth, The Glow, The Fall” opens ‘Dead Magic’ with a haunting yet magnificently uplifting celestial twelve minutes and eight seconds, contrasting with the tempestuous weight of previously released track “The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra.”

Brimming with imagery of physicality and death, on “The Truth, The Glow, The Fall”, von Hausswolff’s words express her pithily and powerfully. “Will we fall/ Down in the river/ Down to the bodies below?”

Magic, as old as humanity itself, is the primordial answer to the threat of losing our own presence in the world, the fear of oblivion. From magic, the most fascinating, mysterious and enchanting stories are born, but also the most obscure and fatal ones. ‘Dead Magic’: this is the paradox chosen by Anna von Hausswolff to open the doors to disturbance and anxiety. A title that embodies disorientation, an unsettling suggestion of which nothing can be known and that, by choice of the artist, will not be further explained.

‘Dead Magic’, Anna von Hausswolff’s fourth album, is five songs extending over 47 minutes and 20 seconds and was composed in the summer of 2016 in her hometown Gothenburg, Sweden, and recorded the following year in Copenhagen, Denmark. The majority of recordings were done on the 20th-century organ at Copenhagen’s Marmorkirken, “the Marble Church”, one of the largest churches in Scandinavia, with a chapel inspired by the majestic St Peter’s Basilica in Rome.

The album sees her joined by Karl Vento (guitar), Joel Fabiansson (guitar), Filip Leyman (synthesizers), Ulrik Ording (drums) and David Sabel (bass), with string arrangements on “The Truth, the Glow, the Fall” and “Källans Återuppståndelse” by Úlfur Hansson. The production of Dead Magic was entrusted to the multifaceted Randall Dunn, known for collaborating with iconic bands such as Sunn O))), Earth and Wolves in the Throne Room (whose recent album 'Thrice Woven' Anna contributed vocals to).

For the promotion of 'Dead Magic', the artist has chosen a poem by the Swedish writer Walter Ljungquist (1900-1974) as the only comment - a suggestion and nothing more, the rest of the magic will be left to the music.

“Take the fate of the human being, a thin pathetic line that contours and encircles an infinite and unknown silence. It is in this very silence, in an only imagined and unknown centre, that legends are born. Alas! That is why there are no legends in our time. Our time is a time deprived of silence and secrets; in their absence, no legends can grow.”

‘Dead Magic’ track list:
1. The Truth, The Glow, The Fall (12:08)
2. The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra (06:09)
3. Ugly and Vengeful (16:17)
4. The Marble Eye (05:19)
5. Källans återuppståndelse (7.26)

Anna von Hausswolff live dates:
Mar 03 @ Beatpol, Dresden (DE)
Mar 04 @ Festsaal, Berlin (DE)
Mar 05 @ Kampnagel, Hamburg (DE)
Mar 07 @ Gebäude 9, Köln (DE)
Mar 08 @ Bitterzoet, Amsterdam (NL)
Mar 09 @ Ekko, Utrecht (NL)
Mar 10 @ Paard, Den Haag (NL)
Mar 12 @ The Dome, London (UK)
Mar 18 @ Berns, Stockholm (SE)
May 31 @ Primavera Sound, Barcelona (ES)