The 2015 Mercury Prize ‘Albums of the Year’ in association with BBC Music were announced on Friday 16 October.

“This year’s Mercury Prize shortlist includes seven debut albums and it celebrates artists from every stage of their careers”, says Simon Frith, Chair of Judges. “These musicians come from a fascinating variety of musical places, cultures and histories. What they have in common is the ambition and the craft, the ideas and the imagination to make great music!”

The 2015 Albums of the Year are:

Aphex Twin - Syro
Benjamin Clementine - At Least For Now
C Duncan - Architect
Eska - Eska
Florence + The Machine - How Big, How Blue, How Beautiful
Gaz Coombes - Matador
Ghostpoet - Shedding Skin
Jamie xx - In Colour
Róisín Murphy - Hairless Toys
Slaves - Are You Satisfied?
SOAK - Before We Forgot How To Dream
Wolf Alice - My Love Is Cool